Current Chairs

Dr Candice Delcourt

Dr Candice Delcourt is a clinician researcher. She holds an NHMRC Investigator Grant, Synergy Grant and MRFF funding. She is a Senior Research Fellow and Head of the Neurology Program at The George Institute.

She is a Clinical Associate Professor at Macquarie University and a Conjoint Senior Lecture at The University of New South Wales. She is a practicing neurologist in Sydney and in rural outreach locations. Her research interests are stroke, health systems, clinical trials and epidemiology.

Professor Vincent Thijs

Vincent Thijs is the Head of Stroke at the Austin Health since 2015. He recently moved from Belgium where he headed the Stroke Unit at the University Hospitals in Leuven since 2001. He was a professor at the Department of Neurosciences at KULeuven and a research fellow at the VIB ( He was twice awarded the prestigious Clinical Investigatorship by the FWO, the main research fund in Flanders.

His research interests include acute stroke treatment, stroke prevention, young stroke, the genetics of atrial fibrillation and stroke, and neuroimaging.  Professor Thijs completed a PhD on magnetic resonance imaging in acute stroke. He has served on the steering committee of several acute stroke clinical trials (WAKE-UP, SCAST, MITI-IV and AXIS) and secondary prevention trials (SOCRATES, RE-SPECT ESUS and REACT-AF).

Professor Thijs is a member of the International Stroke Genetics Consortium and an editorial board member of the Stroke journal, the European Stroke Journal and the International Journal of Stroke. He has authored or co-authored more than 170 peer-reviewed papers on stroke related topics